Hiking tour Hochtennbodensteig Axamer Lizum

medium medium
8.9 km 8.9 km
1023 m 1023 m
3.5 h 3.5 h
Starting point: 1576
Endpoint: Hoadlhaus
City: Axamer Lizum

Axams at a glance

Tourist Information Axams

Georg-Bucher-Straße 1, 6094 Axams
Monday-Friday 8:30 am - 12:00 am
Monday-Friday 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Axams, a place with Olympic history

Axams has hosted the Olympic Games twice. During the Winter Olympics in 1964 and 1976, the best skiers in the world competed in races held in the nearby ski resort of Axamer Lizum. The ski area is still popular today thanks to its great pistes and wonderful location: the resort offers particularly beautiful views of the impressive Kalkkögel mountain range, which is known as the "Dolomites of the North" thanks to its rugged peaks.

Axams and Axamer Lizum are popular hiking destinations

The mountains are dotted with rustic and modern alpine guesthouses that are inviting places to stop for a break in summer and winter alike. The Hoadlhaus in the resort of Axamer Lizum is one of the most beautiful. This restaurant is a modern glass building high up in the mountains that has huge windows with stunning views in all directions. It is a great place for soaking up the sun and ideal for taking a break when hiking or skiing. 

Axams leisure centre

The leisure centre in Axams offers water, wellness and relaxation year round. The outdoor pool is a great way to cool down in summer and the indoor area is warm and cosy even in winter. Go for a swim or relax with a book. The sauna experiences are also highly recommended. You can choose from a Finnish sauna, stone pine sauna, Kelo wood sauna and more. The Welcome Card gives you a big discount on admission fees at Axams leisure centre. 

A highlight in winter

The local toboggan runs are a real highlight in winter. From Axams, you can be at the technically demanding and illuminated natural toboggan run in no time. The village is also well located for the snow-sure Pleisenhütte/Schafalm toboggan run.

A highlight in autumn

The authentic "Viehabtrieb" is a real highlight in autumn. This is when animals are brought down into the village from their summer pastures located high up in the surrounding mountains. The event is held at a very early date at the beginning of September.

Axams – the Wampelerreiten

Here tradition has become UNESCO cultural heritage: carnival is a big and spectacular event in Axams and the celebrations take place every year. The village west of Innsbruck is probably home to the most unconventional carnival customs in the area around Innsbruck. The "Axamer Wampeler" take on the main role supported by many other traditional characters: big-bellied Wampeler with their stuffed shirts, Reiter, Tuxer, Flitscheler, altboarische Paarln, Nadln, witches, Bujazzln, bears and bear handlers. The characters wear precious, handcrafted costumes during the colourful celebrations. The Wampelerreiten is a particularly special event and well-worth a visit. This custom has quite rightly been granted UNESCO intangible cultural heritage status. 

Quick links

Hiking programme

Axams

Route planner

to

Axams Video

Weather today in
morning
Axams
Fineweather: 10%
1°C/34°F
Low pressure has spread over Central Europe; in addition to that, cold, humid air is moving into our region! As this humid air is arriving from the north-west, it is building up here on the north side of the Alps. The weather conditions will therefore be unstable on Saturday:
To the Panoramacam
Sunday
6°C/43°F
Sunday
Monday
7°C/45°F
Monday
unlimited
Weather for morning
morning
Innsbruck
Fineweather: 10%
2°C/36°F
afternoon
Weather for afternoon
afternoon
Innsbruck
Fineweather: 30%
2°C/36°F
Weather for Sunday
Sunday
Innsbruck
Fineweather: 60%
2°C/36°F
Monday
Weather for Monday
Monday
Innsbruck
Fineweather: 60%
2°C/36°F
morning
Can we help? Contact us.
Innsbruck Tourismus
Mo - Fr: 8.00 am - 5.00 pm
Innsbruck Incoming
Mo - Fr: 9.00 am - 5.00 pm
Tourismus Information, Ticket Service
Mo - Sa: 9.00 am - 5.00 pm

Axamer Lizum Hochtennbodensteig

mittel
8.9 km
1023 m
3.5 h
Ausgangspunkt: Axamer Lizum
Endpunkt: Hoadlhaus
Ort: Axamer Lizum

Axams auf einen Blick

Tourismus Information Axams

Georg-Bucher-Straße 1, 6094 Axams
Montag - Freitag 08:00 - 12:00 Uhr
Montag - Freitag 14:00 - 18:00 Uhr

Im Februar, Juli & August zusätzlich am Samstag 09:00 - 12:00 Uhr

Axams, ein Ort mit Olympischer Geschichte

Axams war zwei Mal Schauplatz olympischer Spiele. Im nahe gelegenen Skigebiet Axamer Lizum bestritten 1964 und 1976 die besten der Welt Skirennen während der Olympischen Winterspiele. Auch heute ist die Lizum ein beliebtes Skigebiet. Sie punktet neben ihren Abfahrten auch mit ihrer Lage: Das imposante Bergmassiv der Kalkkögel präsentiert sich hier besonders schön. Deren schroffe Zinnen brachten ihnen übrigens den Titel „Dolomiten des Nordens“ ein.

Axams und die Axamer Lizum sind ein beliebtes Wandergebiet.

Urige und moderne Almgasthöfe laden Sommer wie Winter zur Einkehr. Eines der schönsten: das Hoadlhaus in der Axamer Lizum. Hoch oben blicken Sie vom modernen Glasbau mit riesigen Fensterfronten in alle Richtungen. Ein toller Platz zum Sonnen, ideal beim Wandern oder Skifahren. 

Freizeitzentrum Axams

Im Freizeitzentrum Axams erwartet Sie Wasser, Wellness und Entspannung das ganze Jahr über. Das Freibecken sorgt im Sommer für Erfrischung. Der Indoor Bereich ist auch im Winter wohlig warm. Gehen Sie schwimmen, relaxen Sie mit einem Buch. Besonders Empfehlenswert ist die Erlebnissauna mit finnischer, Zirbenstuben- und Keloholzsauna und einigen mehr. Der Eintritt ins Axamer Freizeitzentrum ist mit Welcome Card stark reduziert. 

Highlight im Herbst

der authentische Viehabtrieb von den höher liegenden Almen der Umgebung. Zu einem sehr frühen Termin bereits Anfang September.

Highlight im Winter

die Rodelmöglichkeiten. Von Axams sind Sie schnell an der technisch anspruchsvollen und beleuchteten Naturrodelbahn. Sie bietet außerdem Anschluss zur schneesicheren Rodelstrecke Pleisenhütte/Schafalm.

Highlight im Sommer: Dorffest Axams

Wer ausgelassen mit den Einheimischen feiern möchte, schaut zum Axamer Dorffest. Der Ort wird zur Open Air Partymeile mit Showbühne, Volksmusik und Livebands. Abends wird das Fest zur Party mit Tanzmusik, DJ und Disco-Areal. Stärken Sie sich zwischendurch mit Volksfestklassikern wie Schnitzel, Brathendl und Wüstln. Oder den traditionellen Axamer Blattln. Die Spezialität gibt es nur zu besonderen Anlässen. Das Fest beginnt am Freitag und endet am Sonntag. Der letzte Festtag bietet viel Spaß für Kinder: mit Spielbereich, Streichelzoo, Schminkstation, Hüpfburg und Streichelzoo.

Axams - das Wampelerreiten

Hier wurde Tradition zu UNESCO Weltkulturerbe: Fasching ist in Axams alljährlich ein großes Spektaktel. Der Ort westlich von Innsbruck hat wohl eine der eigenwilligsten Fasnachtstraditionen in Innsbrucks Umgebung. Neben den "Axamer Wampelern" als Hauptakteure treten viele weitere traditionelle Figuren auf: dickbäuchig ausgestopfte Wampeler, Reiter, Tuxer, Flitscheler, altboarische Paarln, Nadln, Hexen, Bujazzln, Bären und Bärentreiber. Kostbar handgefertigte Kostüme sind während des bunten Treibens zu sehen. Das Axamer Wampelerreiten ist ein besonders sehenswerter Brauch, der zu Recht zum Immateriellen UNESCO Weltkulturerbe erklärt wurde. 

Bergwanderprogramm

Geführte Wanderungen in der Region Innsbruck

Axams in Bildern

Routenplaner

Nach

Axams Video

Das heutige Wetter in
Vormittag
Axams
Sonne: 60%
11°C
Der Hochdruckeinfluss verstärkt sich, doch bevor sich die Sonne so richtig durchsetzen kann, hat sie zunächst noch mit den obligatorischen Restwolken zu kämpfen. Doch sie schafft dies locker und nach einem wolkigen Morgen wird es schon vormittags freundlich.
Donnerstag
18°C
Donnerstag
Freitag
20°C
Freitag
Mehr erfahren
unlimited
Wetter für Vormittag
Vormittag
Innsbruck
Sonne: 60%
13°C
Nachmittag
Wetter für Nachmittag
Nachmittag
Innsbruck
Sonne: 80%
13°C
Wetter für Donnerstag
Donnerstag
Innsbruck
Sonne: 90%
13°C
Freitag
Wetter für Freitag
Freitag
Innsbruck
Sonne: 100%
13°C
Vormittag
Können wir helfen? Kontaktieren sie uns!
Innsbruck Tourismus
Mo - Fr: 8:00 - 17:00 Uhr
Innsbruck Incoming
Mo - Fr: 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr
Tourismus Information, Ticket Service
Mo - Sa: 9:00 - 18:00 Uhr
So: 10:00 - 16:30 Uhr