Teaser schließen


at your fingertips

Innsbruck App for iPhone and Android

Download Button for Android
Download for Apple
Teaser schließen


10% Fineweather
morning -4°C


30% Fineweather


60% Fineweather


The weather is not really producing its best at the moment! Although we will get a few clear spells and maybe even a few rays of sunshine, clouds will dominate the sky all day long. Showers may occur.



The area of low pressure is moving on very slowly and will not leave us until Thursday. Until then, the weather will remain cold and unstable.

Panorama Webcams in Innsbruck and its regions

Teaser schließen

Can we help? Contact us!

Tourist office Gries

Mon - Fri: 9.00am - 12.00 noon
and 2.00pm - 5.00pm

Tourist office Oberperfuss, Unterperfuss, Ranggen

Mon - Fri 8.00am - 12.00noon
Mon 2.30pm - 5.30pm

Tourist office St. Sigmund - Praxmar

Mon - Fri 8.00am - 12.00noon
Mon and Wed 2.00pm-4.00pm

Ranggen parish church

Religious masterpieces in the heart of the village

Ranggen is home to a true jewel of Baroque architecture: the parish church known as St. Magnus of Ranggen. A chapel by the name of St. Magnus was first mentioned in 1348 – but this is thought to be what is known today as the “Totenkapelle” (Chapel of the Dead). The second church, built in the late Gothic style, was consecrated in 1482 – the presbytery and the steeple still remain. The church was converted to the Baroque style in 1750 and adorned with beautiful frescos by artist Christoph Anton Mayr from Schwaz. One of these frescos is the oldest known image of Ranggen and is located in the sacristy, which is one of the most beautiful sacristies in Tyrol. In 1733, Curator Johann Stefan von Reinhart took over the pastoral duties and had a third and more modern church built at his own expense, in the style of Master Church Builder Franz Singer from Götzens.

Experience baroque architecture up close

The church exterior is a simple late Baroque structure and the Gothic north tower is topped by twin onion domes. The interior features a single-nave, hall-like space with impressive ceiling frescos by Franz Anton Zeiler. The patron saint, St. Magnus, is portrayed as an intercessor above the high altar. Both the main altarpiece and the side altarpieces were created by Josef Anton Zoller from Telfs. The classical church organ was installed by Master Organ Maker Franz Weber from Oberperfuss in 1899 and is considered to be his last work. The “Easter grave” in Ranggen is well-worth a visit and takes up the entire width of the altar room. It was remodelled in 1850 by Josef Kramer, using two backdrops from older holy sepulchres. Another must-see is the nativity scene that dates back to before 1800 and is believed to have been made in the Ursuline convent in Innsbruck. The parish church in Ranggen is also the starting point for the “Besinnungsweg” (Path of Reflection).

Contact & information

Pfarre Ranggen
Dr. Erich Saurwein
Unterdorf 14
6179  Ranggen
+43 52 32 / 81 595
[email protected]

  • Deutsch