- Neighbouring villages
- Southern holiday villages
- Western holiday villages
- Kühtai - Sellraintal
- Sonnenplateau Mieming & Tirol Mitte
Cultural wealth since 3000 BC
Kematen and Völs have a very rich history. The “Thurn zu Vels” residence was built here in the 15th century on the spot where the village hall and Thurnfels museum can be found today. The oldest find from the region is a polished stone axe from the 3rd century BC. The urnfield from the Bronze Age and the numerous coins from the late Roman era also contribute to making Völs an important part of settlement history.
The God of Festivity and Wine
The “Völser Bacchus” is another a remarkable piece: this little bust of Bacchus, the God of Festivity and Wine, was originally used as a weight for a set of Roman scales. The bronze figure displays outstanding artistic quality and can still be admired today alongside other international exhibits in the Thurnfels museum.
The main landmark in the market town of Völs is the popular Pilgrimage Church of St. Blasius, which was first mentioned in 1286. The church was expanded and converted to the Baroque style in the 18th century and restored in 1986 for the 700th anniversary celebration.
Kematen is known for its Baroque church dedicated to St. Viktor, which features three rare onion-shaped domes.