Innsbruck Region


Churches and monasteries

 > Ranggen Parish Church

Ranggen Parish Church

Pfarramt Ranggen
Herrn Dr. Erich Sauerwein
Unterdorf 14, 6179  Ranggen
+43 5232 / 81 116
+43 676 / 87 30 28 00

Opening Hours

Three churches in one! This curious characteristic makes Ranggen Parish Church a real jewel of the Innsbruck region and well-worth a visit. A chapel dedicated to St Magnus, known as the “Kapelle zum Heiligen Magnus auf dem Ranken” was first mentioned in 1348 but the construction date of the small church remains unknown. We do, however, know that the church was reconsecrated by the Auxiliary Bishop Augustine of Freising on 4 January 1360 after the interdict was lifted in 1359. Although parts of it are now missing, this old chapel building is now the mortuary chapel of the current church.

The construction of the second church building is believed to have begun in 1498 or 1499, as is suggested by a letter of indulgence dating back to 1500. The letter reveals that a private foundation provided the financial means required for a permanent priest in 1498. This second building, where you can see frescos by Christoph Anton Mayr and the oldest image of Ranggen, is now used as a sacristy and is considered to be one of the most stunning sacristies in Tyrol.

Ranggen owes its third building, the current church building, to the highly deserving curator Johann Stefan von Reinhart, who took over pastoral care duties in 1773 and soon had an impressive village church built at his own expense. The church was constructed by the builder and plasterer Franz Singer from the village of Götzens based on plans by Georg Tangl between 1775 and 1778. It was consecrated by Prince-Bishop Josef Graf von Spaur on 10 July 1780. The church’s altarpieces were created by Josef Anton Zoller and the ceiling frescos were painted by Franz Anton Zeiller from Reutte in 1778. 

read moreread less
Zenddesk Chat