Parish Church of St John
Kirchweg 11 , 6070 Ampass
+43 512 / 39 16 16
This church is located on a hill that overlooks the village of Ampass and boasts stunning views. In 1567, the Gothic church burnt down to the ground after being struck by lightning. In December 1568, Archduke Ferdinand II donated 50 gulden for the copper needed to cast a new bell. The church was reconsecrated on 15 December 1574 after seven years of reconstruction. In 1727, its high altar, which previously stood in Wilten Church, was purchased by the parish.
In 1955, a fresco of Saint Christopher dating back to the early 16th century was found on the south side of the choir during restoration work.
The Parish Church of St John is an extremely popular wedding venue thanks to its extraordinary location and unique design.