The Zirbenweg trail

easy
Starting point: Patscherkofel cable car, summit station (1,952 m)
Endpoint: Glungezer chair lift, summit station

Igls at a glance

Tourist Information Igls

Hilberstraße 15, 6080 Igls
Monday-Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm

High season: Saturday 08.30 am - 11.30 am

A sunny spot on Patscherkofel mountain with views of Innsbruck and the Nordkette mountain range. In summer, Igls is the starting point for numerous hikes of all difficulty levels and bike trails to idyllic mountain huts. There is also a small but challenging 9-hole golf course in Igls and vis à vis a riding centre for beginners and experienced riders. In winter, visitors are drawn to the slopes of Patscherkofel ski resort.

Famous Igls

Igls was already known in the Middle Ages as an ideal destination for relaxation. Visitors back then made the journey for the healing baths. In the 19th and 20th centuries, Igls was a renowned health resort and popular among the people of Innsbruck as a rejuvenating summer retreat.
Igls became particularly famous for its Olympic history; several competitions were held there in 1964 and 1976, including the legendary Olympic downhill race when Franz Klammer won Olympic gold on the slopes of the Patscherkofel. The ice track in Igls has also been the scene of many fast moments and still holds international competitions in bobsleigh, luge and skeleton today. Guests can try the high-speed sport of bobsleigh in a guest bobsleigh with a professional pilot.

Archaeology in the open air

The Goldbichl is an excavation site located on a small hill between Igls/Vill and the neighbouring village of Patsch. It is a mystical place that was used 4,000 years ago as a ritual site for burning offerings. Follow the archaeology trail with its illustrated information boards and go on a journey into the past. The boards line the route to the prehistoric site and give an insight into the period from 2000 BC to 1500 BC.

Event highlights

Igler Art is a great event for anyone who appreciates fine craftsmanship while the "Christmas in the mountains" celebration on 23 December provides a large dose of Christmas spirit. All of Igls comes together for the event when 200 angels, shepherds and animals accompany a sleigh carrying Mary, Joseph and the Christ Child through the village. Visitors and participants gather on the village square around the big Christmas tree, singing Christmas carols, listening to the sounds of the choir and the brass band and getting into the Christmas spirit together. This is an event that is hard to beat for Christmas romance. 

Igls

Route planner

To

Did you know?

The alpine roses bloom on Patscherkofel mountain from the middle of June.

InfoBites
Weather today in
morning
Igls
Fineweather: 80%
17°C/63°F
On Tuesday, the summer 2019 pulls out once again all the stops to offer us great summer weather: It will be bright and occasional thunderstorms in the afternoon and the evening, but these are, after all, a part of classic summer weather.
Wednesday
28°C/82°F
Wednesday
Thursday
23°C/73°F
Thursday
Read more
unlimited
Weather for morning
morning
Innsbruck
Fineweather: 80%
18°C/64°F
afternoon
Weather for afternoon
afternoon
Innsbruck
Fineweather: 60%
18°C/64°F
Wednesday
Weather for Wednesday
Wednesday
Innsbruck
Fineweather: 60%
18°C/64°F
Thursday
Weather for Thursday
Thursday
Innsbruck
Fineweather: 50%
18°C/64°F
morning
Can we help? Contact us.
Innsbruck Tourismus
Mo - Fr: 8.00 am - 5.00 pm
Innsbruck Incoming
Mo - Fr: 9.00 am - 5.00 pm
Tourismus Information, Ticket Service
Mo - Sa: 9.00 am - 6.00 pm
Su: 10.00 am - 4.30 pm

Zirbenweg

leicht
7.4 km
430 m
Ausgangspunkt: Patscherkofelbahn Bergstation
Endpunkt: Glungezerbahn Bergstation

Igls auf einen Blick

Tourismus Information Igls

Hilberstraße 15, 6080 Igls
Montag - Freitag 08:30 - 17:00 Uhr

Ein sonniger Platz am Patscherkofel mit Blick auf Innsbruck und die Nordkette. Igls ist im Sommer Ausgangspunkt für zahlreiche Wanderungen in allen Schwierigkeitsgraden sowie für Bikestrecken auf idyllische Almen. Weiters befindet sich in Igls ein kleiner jedoch anspruchsvoller 9- Loch Golfplatz und vis à vis ein Reitsportzentrum für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene. Im Winter locken die Pisten des Skigebietes Patscherkofel.

Bekanntes Igls

Dass Igls ideal zur Erholung ist, wusste man schon im Mittelalter. Damals besuchten Gäste die heilenden Bäder. Auch im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert war Igls ein renommierter Kurort und beliebt bei den Innsbruckern für erholsame Sommerfrische.

Olympia in Igls

Besonders bekannt wurde Igls durch seine olympische Geschichte; sowohl 1964 als auch 1976 war es Schauplatz einiger Bewerbe. Die legendäre Olympiaabfahrt von Franz Klammer führte über die Hänge des Patscherkofel zu Olympiagold. Rasante Momente gab es auch im Eiskanal von Igls, wo auch heute noch internationale Bewerbe in Bob, Rodeln und Skeleton stattfinden. Gäste testen die Speedsportart Bobfahren im Gästebob mit Profipilot.

Einzigartig in Igls

Das Olympia-Feeling bleibt in Igls auch im Sommer erhalten. Wenn beim Gästebob die Kufen gegen Räder getauscht werden, geht die Fahrt genauso rasant den Eiskanal hinunter.

Archäologie unter freiem Himmel

Die Ausgrabungsstätte Goldbichl, einst ein Brandopferplatz, liegt auf einem kleinen Hügel zwischen Igls-Vill und dem Nachbardorf Patsch. Ein mystischer Ort, der bereits vor 4.000 Jahren genutzt wurde. Folgen Sie dem Archäologiepfad, der mit illustrierten Informationstafeln in längst vergangene Zeiten entführt. Sie säumen den Weg zur prähistorischen Brandopferstelle und lassen in die Zeit zwischen 2000 und 1500 vor Christus eintauchen.

Veranstaltungshighlights

Freunde der Handwerkskunst besuchen die Igler Art. Wer Weihnachtsstimmung sucht, besucht die Igler Bergweihnacht am 23. Dezember. Ganz Igls wirkt mit, wenn 200 Engel, Hirten und Tiere, ein Schlitten mit dem Christkind, Maria und Josef durch das Dorf ziehen. Gäste und Mitwirkende versammeln sich am Dorfplatz rund um den großen Christbaum. Sie singen gemeinsam Weihnachtslieder, lauschen den Klängen von Chor und Bläsergruppe und stimmen sich gemeinsam auf Weihnachten ein. Eine Veranstaltung, die an weihnachtlicher Romantik kaum zu übertreffen ist. 

Bergwanderprogramm

Geführte Wanderungen in der Region Innsbruck

Igls

Routenplaner

Nach

Schon gewusst?

Ab Mitte Juni blühen am Patscherkofel die Almrosen.

InfoBites
Das heutige Wetter in
Vormittag
Igls
Sonne: 40%
12°C
Am Montag setzt sich wieder Hochdruckwetter bei uns durch. Damit setzt sich endgültig trockenere Luft durch. So stehen die Chancen gut, dass die Sonne im Match mit den Wolken im Tagesverlauf die Oberhand gewinnt! Schauer bleiben selten.
Dienstag
19°C
Dienstag
Mittwoch
20°C
Mittwoch
Mehr erfahren
unlimited
Wetter für Vormittag
Vormittag
Innsbruck
Sonne: 40%
12°C
Nachmittag
Wetter für Nachmittag
Nachmittag
Innsbruck
Sonne: 60%
12°C
Wetter für Dienstag
Dienstag
Innsbruck
Sonne: 90%
12°C
Mittwoch
Wetter für Mittwoch
Mittwoch
Innsbruck
Sonne: 90%
12°C
Vormittag
Können wir helfen? Kontaktieren sie uns!
Innsbruck Tourismus
Mo - Fr: 8:00 - 17:00 Uhr
Innsbruck Incoming
Mo - Fr: 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr
Tourismus Information, Ticket Service
Mo - Sa: 9:00 - 18:00 Uhr
So: 10:00 - 16:30 Uhr